to the city i run to in my nightmares
the spirit holding me in this cold fuss
eyes shutting inside memory gates
lips syncing to savoury diaries
under a slow steady sinking pace
when I ponder the rosy race

i’ve been running in my mind
chasing dreams of us around
now i can’t seem to stand
you breathing isn’t life, to me you’re dead
as i put your bones in the flesh of land
i recall your stance after the live band

you were tipsy
when you said you loved me
streets were coloured up
when my heart heard your voice
i drank the truth and the lie
so one night we stood
nice and slow you followed
now judas, you want to tease me
fair enough, go ahead kiss me

unwind the black ribbon on my eyes
to those sexy white lies
for i’m still caught in this fall
as i get lost in your eyes
up and down like the waves
you just wanted a ride

you were shadows and the light
around the circles you would write
on my mirror face
facing the past ace
stuck in an unending maze
you with your fancy games
look, it’s you running in the old days

sore lips singing another song
but it’s not you in the lines,
my rhymes when you’re gone
steady stunt still wind had blown
old pages that are creased and torn
are in eternity a deep book within
just a broken bit

and it’s a broken beat,
a crushed heart
is a broken beat,
a mirror face,
shards on the floor
cards showing ace,
no hearts, all lined up in a race
and it’s a broken beat,
a crushed heart
is a broken beat

Leave a comment